Hey Loser! This one’s for you ; )

As a loser, what have I gained?

 A sad story?                A new perspective?            A changed heart?

God is definitely in the heart changing business, but how you perceive your loss definitely depends on your perspective.

As a researcher – every time my peers and I work with a new group of girls, we ask the following question:

“Is life easy or is life hard?”

Without a shadow of doubt, an overwhelming portion of the group, if not all, will run to the side of the room that indicates life is hard when playing polar opposites.

And I have to say I agree…

at times.

I say, “at times” because for a huge part of my life I would experience joy and then worry about getting “too happy” – or I would follow the old saying, “don’t get your hopes up”. In fact, I worked hard not to get my hopes up – in anticipation of the next…

 BIG LET-DOWN.

I mean really “too happy” sounds like an oxymoron to me.

This, my friends, is fear at it’s finest…Hahaha! Lol! Gotcha! – or at least that’s how it feels when you allow nasty thoughts to seep into your beautiful mind.

A former business mentor of mine, Mr. Robert Dean, is notorious for saying, “Don’t get your hopes up?!” “What am I supposed to do…keep my hopes low?!” “…and there you are walking around with these low hopes.”

PPPRREEAAACH BROTHER!

‘Cause the devil is a liar.

Coming to the realization that I will be a loser for the rest of my life, I, Valencya Thompson, vow to relish in my victories to the fullest extent for …the rest of my life!

Won’t you join me?

We should shout in our victories because The Bible tells us that, “…in all these things, we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us,”(Romans 8:37, NIV).

That’s right I’ve said it before to you and I even have to make a mental note, at least once a day to myself, to not allow the words of others – or disappointment to stifle me. You know what I’m talking about…you arrive into your job, your school, a family member or friend’s house, and you are on Cloud 9. ; )  

After being in the building for one moment, someone gives you some bad news, or just says something negative (because he or she is unhappy). Then it starts… this state of pessimism tries to overcome you. If you’re wise enough, you recognize this spiritual attack, and you work to immediately replace those death-thoughts with thoughts of inspiration, encouragement – anything positive at all…and it’s hard! But, if you persist, you’ll soon learn that this, too, shall pass.

The enemy is fighting you and chanting, “Hey Loser!” “Yeah you!” Remember when that professor said he was going to correct your grade…turns out that was a lie.” Haha!” “What were you thinking?”. “What will people think of you now?”

WAIT A MINUTE!

STOP!

THIS SELF-MUTILATION

MUST END NOW!!!

Whew that was tough. I can see myself sweating just thinking about it. If this is you (feel free to insert your personal experience above ; )

Because the truth of the matter is, when you have lost – you are relatable. When you have lost – those who come behind you, will know that they, too, can achieve. When you have lost – you will gain perspective on recognizing when times are good, and that those times are to be appreciated and celebrated.

Most importantly, when you have lost – you will recognize that you are and have been tremendously blessed, and that our Heavenly Father does indeed love you!

So now….

HEY WINNER!

Let’s celebrate!

2 responses to “Hey Loser! This one’s for you ; )

  1. I believe the Bible says it best, “For the rest, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of reverence and is honorable and seemly, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely and lovable, whatever is kind and winsome and gracious, if there is any virtue and excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think on and weigh and take account of these things [fix your minds on them]” (Philippians 4:8 AMP).

Leave a Reply

