Fresh

It is important to keep a fresh perspective.  It is important to remember that God blesses us with fresh new mercies every day (Lamentations 3:23)!

On our best days, we make mistakes.  Even on our best days, we can find ways to be hyper-critical of ourselves if we aren’t careful.  How many of you will make a mistake and ponder on it for the rest of your day?  I do! (Raises Hand ; )

Even after I have received a verbal affirmation of forgiveness from the person whom I believe I have offended…these thoughts seemingly try to linger on.  On my least self-aware, or least meta-cognitive days, when I am not managing my thoughts or directly paying attention to what I am thinking, thoughts of criticism seem to run rampant in my mind.  These mistakes can be as simple as over-sleeping and neglecting to remember a meeting, yet I will find ways to beat myself up.

Usually these thoughts revolve around what others may think of me.  How will an action that I took, intentionally or unintentionally be misconstrued today?   These are some very unhealthy thoughts and if I were to be candid I would say that I have battled with them for my entire life.  I can say that I struggle with them less and less as I grow, so I thank God for progress, yet human nature continues to remind me that they are still there.

I can hear my Grandmother’s words loud and clear, even as I draft this post…”Valencya, people are going to talk about you for the rest of your life and there is nothing you can do about it, so don’t worry about it.”  As much as I can hear her, it is a battle that I have yet to overcome….  

on my own. 

I am rejoicing internally as I now realize that God didn’t give me these feelings so that I can agonize over them or put on my superwoman cape so that I may rescue myself.  He allowed me to experience these feelings so that I will gain greater humility as I continue on the path that He has laid out for me.  He allowed me to have these feelings so that I would constantly draw upon His strength which lies within me to re-gain

a fresh perspective every day. 

For just as the Bible reads in Lamentations 3:23 New Living Translation (2007), “Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.”

And I thank God for that!  I pray that you will be encouraged to do the same. 

Now think easy and keep a fresh perspective ; )

Leave a Reply

