Remember When

“For if we would judge ourselves, we would not be judged. But when we are judged, we are chastened by The Lord, that we not be condemned with the world.” ~1 Corinthians 11:31-32

As a school psychologist intern, I get the privilege of walking the halls of several schools, grades K-12. Rapidly approaching the end of the school year, the yelp of kids in the hall appears to get a little bit louder, and the gripe of the frustrated teacher is seemingly stronger and more frequent.

Said differently, everyone is pretty much tired.

Tired of each other and tired of meeting demands.

Recently I have become like adults a few generations my senior, who have taken on the, “I just don’t know about these kids today.” -SMH hangup. And I am concerned, because it is far to early in my budding career for me to feel this way.

Thank God He has blessed me with this self-awareness, so that I may kill this problem at the root of the issue.

What am i talking about really?

Well I am addressing that self-righteousness that sneaks up on you in adulthood – if you’re not careful.

Oh how quick we are to judge today’s youth without acknowledging the hand that the world has dealt them: pre-exposure to adult concepts via television and internet, such as, early sexualization like what my CSEC team and I research. And let’s not forget those who experience neglect and abuse in the home.

A separate issue with adulthood is how hypercritical we can become of today’s youth and regard their immaturity with disdain – when ironically, that is the behavior of the ideal child. To undergo childhood is a rapid developmental process, in which rapid change occurs daily.

From a Christian perspective, how dare I look at this child in judgement? When it was God’s grace alone that brought me from the shadows of darkness from whence I came. Dubbed the “good child”, even I have a past.

“Just as The Lord sent someone for me, He’s sending me for them.” ~ Powerful words from an instrumental teacher of Self-contained emotionally disturbed students, Sister Lois Murphy

For as I have said it before, it is important to think on the following:

Don’t grow weary in well-doing, for in due season you shall reap, if you faint not. ~Galatians 6:9

God Bless! Let’s keep praying for each other.

One response to “Remember When

Leave a Reply

