Where are your parents?

Have you ever heard the saying, “It seems those who have several kids don’t want them, while countless others are trying to have children to no avail.”?

If you haven’t then perhaps I made it up ; )

As a school psychologist intern, I hear children, yes children say some of the most disturbing things in school hallways. Now this is mostly on the middle and high school level. Thank God it isn’t as blatant with my babies on the elementary school level, but it still happens.

There are more than a few children today who are so grown when it comes to the words that fly out of their mouths, and even the actions they participate in, (i.e. early sexualization) yet they are so immature in their behaviors because, as I have mentioned before, they are only children.

No matter how quickly their “hormone-enraged and steroid-fed” bodies may develop, the brain and mindset of a child is what they possess.

I often reflect on my own childhood and the terrible things I said to fit in or so I wouldn’t look like “a punk”. Yeah “light-skinned with long hair…’thank’ she all dat” is what I battled occasionally during elementary and middle school in a setting where middle class African Americans met their lower-income counterparts.

Despite my semi-delinquent ways, my family and school teachers did not have a clue because I was a good child (overall) who had sense enough not to exhibit such behaviors in front of adults. ; ). In addition to this sense, I desired to be held in a high esteem by my family and my teachers. As a result, I respected all adults, and carried myself in a respectable manner in front of them. Don’t get me wrong, though I tried to “be-down” at times, my peers still knew me as a “church-girl who loves The Lord.”

Whew… I’ve thrown out a lot of labels here! I blame it on the stigmatizing society we live in. ; )

My whole point in discussing all of this is, what happened to the parents and children fearing them?

Yes I know, my perception is skewed because of the population I work with on a day-to-day basis; however, I still feel safe in saying,

Where are the parents?

Where are the mentors?

Hence my recent establishment of Ruth-Heart Ministry (TM), a volunteer agency that pairs girls from underserved populations with positive adult women mentors in the metro-Atlanta area.

If you would like to learn more about this organization or chip in, in anyway, do feel free to contact me.

Take care and God bless!

“Train up a child in the way he should go, and we he is old he will not depart from it.”~Proverbs 22:6

Leave a Reply

