About Last Night: A Revelatory Dream

020a

More frequently, God has been speaking to me in the format of dreams.
About Last Night…

I dreamed that there was a rowdy crowd of unfamiliar people in my home. This group was comprised of mostly men. What was even more troublesome, these people were crowded in my bedroom misusing my belongings with much disrespect. To make matters worst, my husband was home and did not appear to have a problem with these individuals invading our space.

God revealed that this dream had a message, but it wasn’t until later today that God provided the interpretation.

Many of us human beings are particular about protecting our belongings. Oh you know, we are mindful of our cell phones and our purses. We alarm our cars and even our homes. We are very careful to not leave our belongings around people we deem untrustworthy for one reason or another. Most certainly we are sure to not invite untrustworthy individuals into our physical homes.

But you know what’s funny? God allowed me to realize that while we are careful to do the above, we rarely guard our hearts and minds in these same ways.

Let’s discuss this in a way that resonates. How many of us have been having a “good day” where we have been in a great mood and it felt like the sun was shining all over the place? Then you walk into someone who says something to you that is interpreted as rude, they tell you “no”, or they criticize you about something that brings or reminds you of some sort of pain?

Well God is urging us to think in the same way about mental intrusion as we do about the intrusion upon our physical property. While we so readily guard material possessions that are physically replaceable, we should secure our beautiful minds even moreso, especially since we will only be granted ONE for the rest of our lives. Furthermore, this “one” mind that we have operates in a fashion where memories are stored and built on top of previous ones that are then reconstructed and in-turn shape our behaviors. These memories also shape the way we perceive things, how we interact and engage (or not engage) others, and so on for the rest of our lives.

In my dream the intrusive people can reflect mind intrusions (negative words, curses, or other disrespectful occurrences projected on us by other people & even what we choose to expose ourselves to experiencing on a day-to-day basis). Also in this dream, my husband (who protects me in my real life) represents security that was off duty for some reason or another.

In response to a recent Facebook post I made regarding comments received from others, my husband stated the following: “Looking good babe. Everyone has an opinion. CHOOSE who you listen to.” His word choice in this instance truly resonated with me. In most situations similar to this one people will repeat the all too familiar phrase, “be careful who you listen to”. But there was something about Jerrell’s decision to say “choose”. Knowing, loving, and breathing the same air as this man on a daily basis, I know that he is one who always stays true to self. This is a quality of his that I strongly admire and strive to emulate; yet I have historically struggled in this area. This “ole” open and fun-loving soul of mine has been misjudged and even abused in some instances, and I have unfortunately allowed some things to linger for too long.

Don’t get me wrong, God has been working on me with this, but I still have more ground to cover in this process. Today I say, “No More,” and I encourage you to join me on this journey.

Heard a negative word? Dismiss it.

Someone tries to curse you (knowingly or unknowingly)? Rebuke it.

Someone’s behaviors suggests that he or she dislikes or is jealous of you (at no fault of your own)? Ignore it.

Through all these things maintain your integrity and press on to accomplish the will of God in your life.

Please do not misinterpret what I am saying, there of course will be times when you are called to speak directly to an individual’s words against your life. During these times it is necessary that you pray (yes you have time to say a quick prayer in the spirit (to yourself), or you can pray for discernment about when and how to revisit something later) and ask the Holy Spirit to provide the words that are necessary so that God’s work might be done through you and for you.

Let us join in together to make a pledge to liberate ourselves from yet another form of spiritual bondage today! This is necessary so that we might be free to do the work that our Lord has called us to complete.

God Bless You!

Proverbs 4:23 (NIV) “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it”.

One response to “About Last Night: A Revelatory Dream

  1. Very true!! Thanks for sharing. Definitely need to take every negative thought captive and make it obey Christ! This is an area I have too struggled in much in my past and something I have to be proactive about daily! God bless!

Leave a Reply

